Working at UQ

11/05/2012 13:14

I've completed my first week of work with the University of Queensland. I am the Administrative Officer (Coursework, Students & Programs) for the School of Economics, which means I will primarily be compiling Electronic Course Profiles (syllabi) and preparing examination papers for approximately 60 courses a semester. It is quite a lot of responsability, but I think I can handle it! It will run into April, with the possibility of extension after that. Some perks of the position...I got over a 25% raise from my previous academic position, my work week is 36.25 hours/week, any time over 36 hours is "flex time" that I can use however I choose, the building I work in has a rooftop cafe with coffee and snacks, across the street is another cafe that serves food and also has wine and beer (Fat Yak & Little Creatures!), all staff are required to contribute min. 9% to superannuation and the university matches 9%, and I should be able to get a gym membership at the staff rate! Needless to say, I'm pretty pleased with the job.