Saturday Morning Synchronicity

07/31/2013 12:21

On Saturday morning, I got together with Dave’s Sister-in-law, Helen, to make a trip to the West End Markets as I often do. When we arrived at the park, the unmistakable smell of eggs and bacon came wafting over from an event going on nearby. I wouldn’t have given it a second thought, but Helen, who is eternally involved in her community, decided we should investigate. As it turns out, the gathering was a ceremony for National Sorry Day. Sorry day is an annual event that has been held in Australia on 26 May, since 1998, to remember and commemorate the mistreatment of the continent's indigenous population. Those outside of Australia may not be aware that up until the 1970’s, children of Aboriginal peoples were forcibly removed from their families by the  Australian government “for their protection.” The result of this act is what is known as the “Stolen Generation.”

 

We sat down to eat our overflowing plates of free food and listen to the music. Two women were playing guitar and singing songs about living in the missions as children. Before starting her next song, one of the women shared a story about the only time in her life that she ever met a relative. She said she was visited, only once, by her Grandparents as a child. She told how they had brought a photograph of her mother, the only photo she has ever seen of her mother. She described the photo from memory, her mother lifting her high overhead in a billabong when she was a baby. She said she was trying to track down this photo and asked the people gathered there if they would check their photo boxes at home for it. I sat there, speechless, choking back tears, and I know Helen, who found out in the past few years that she was adopted and has Aboriginal heritage, was equally moved by the woman’s story.  

 

I cannot advocate enough for putting yourself outside of your conform zone and allowing for synchronicity to manifest. Synchronicity is a term from psychology and philosophy that refers to a “meaningful coincidence” that happens when you allow yourself to be open to the world around you. You really never know what you will find! Since coming to Australia, I have found and continue to find myself in the right place at the right time. I continue to find new experiences that touch me and meet people who have something to teach me. As an “outsider,” I would not have wandered into that gathering that day, but I am so thankful that we did.