Happy New Year from Down Under!

01/11/2013 10:33

I’ve had a whirlwind couple of weeks and thought I would share an update of my adventures. Our Fraser Island camping trip (Dec 7-9) was fantastic. My last blog is about this trip. I really had a blast off-roading and we will definitely be doing more of it. I hit the 6 months in Australia mark on January 19th…6 more months (at least) to go! I was very fortunate to have paid vacation from the 22nd through Jan 2nd.

 

On Saturday, Dec. 22nd we joined a heap of Dave’s high school friends for a picnic in the park down the road from us. They set up a slip’n’slide and even had a DJ spinning decks. This is a yearly tradition for the group and there were around 30-40 people in total. I probably only “keep in touch” with a few souls from my school days, so I am amazed by both the size and closeness of this group of friends who all went to either primary or secondary school together, they are quite unique in this respect.


We did a fair amount of cooking and baking for Christmas, which I spent with Dave and his family (His parents, two older bothers and their wives, and his six nephews and one niece) at their home in Brisbane. I introduced the family to a PA Dutch classic, Red Beet Eggs, as well as Strawberry Shortcake and Celestial Seasonings Teas. It was in the 90’s on Christmas day, but thankfully Graham and Penny (Dave’s Parents) have a pool!

 

After a few lazy days, we mustered our energy to make the drive down to Bryon Bay in Northern New South Wales, one of the first places I visited in Australia. We spent the morning at the beach, then drove up into the rainforest to visit Dave’s brother Chris’ farm property. Once it started to pour, we drove into Lennox Head (a little beach town) for some dinner before heading home.
 

Festival Poster
 

On the 31st we packed the truck once again to do an overnight camping trip to the Woodford Folk Festival an hour or so north of Brisbane. Woodfordia, as the festival grounds are affectionately known, is THE hippy festival of Australia and it almost made me feel like I was back in Boulder, haha! We met up with Dave’s friend Dan and his motley crew and enjoyed the evening’s frivolities. We barely made it past midnight before the arduous day caught up with us and we retired to the tent.

 


3 Minutes of Reflection (I'm in this pic!)

 

Lantern Parade

 

Streets of Woodfordia

 

Woodford Map

 

I am back to work now, things will be picking up soon as we near the start of the first semester of 2013. On my current Work & Holiday Visa I am only allowed to work for an organization for a max of six months, which would be until the end of April. However, the School of Economics has offered me a Business Long Stay Visa which would allow me to extend my current contract through June (and to work in Oz for up to four years). The woman who I am temping for will be required to return to or vacate the position in June, so most likely I will be the frontrunner candidate for the ongoing position going forward from June.