BrisVegas Baby!

10/13/2012 16:06

I'm still trying to figure out why they call Brisbane "BrisVegas," besides gambling (which is omnipresent in Oz) there's little in the way of similarities. However, once you hear it called that, the name sticks in your head. Brisbane is where I first arrived in Australia almost four months ago. I spent about a week here in my first trip and another few days following Thailand. Brisbane has a reputation in Oz for being a “sleepy country city,” and I imagine compared to Sydney or Melbourne, it would be. However I certainly see Brisbane as a city, a small city, but a city nonetheless.


View Larger Map

 


View Larger Map

 


View Larger Map

The Brisbane River snakes its way through of Brisbane, defining the city and neighborhoods. I will be living in a neighborhood just south of the city known as West End. West End is a vibrant community full of unique people, a bit like Boulder but considerably less crunchy. From my building, walk across the street and hang a right down Boundary Street and within a mile or so there are boutiques, restaurants, grocery stores, and everything else you need. 


View Larger Map

 


View Larger Map

This is my building and my street looking west. Below are some of the other areas near where I live, across the River is St. Lucia, where I hope to be working at the University of Queensland. If I do work at the St. Lucia campus, my daily commute would be a walk to the river, a CityCat ferry ride across the river, and a stroll onto campus (not too shabby!). Heading into the city is South Brisbane or South Bank with lots of shops and restuarants as well as museums and the giant ferris wheel.   

 

In 2011, Queensland suffered a major flood, during which 75% of the state was considered a disaster area. The Brisbane River flooded its banks, putting large sections of Brisbane under feet of water. Below is a photo of the University of Queensland’s St. Lucia campus, directly across the river from where I live.

West End has a real community feeling, with events like block parties and Saturday morning Farmer’s Markets. West End Magazine writes articles about the community happenings and features local people and businesses. One of my favorite spots in West End so far is Archive Beer Boutique because of their craft beers on tap and a unreal list of imported and domestic brews.

Right now, Brisbane is covered in the purple blooms of the Jacaranda Tree. The Jacaranda is known to the natives for blooming during school finals. It is a gorgeous tree, I just can’t get over the vibrant color!

 

What I am enjoying most about Brisbane right now is the beautiful weather, sunsets from my balcony, and discovering new places of interest. I've had the good fortune to experience Brisbane's Riverfire, a large fireworks display that stretches across the city and I've also attended a Brisbane Broncos National Rugby League game. There a plenty of places to go and things to do and I'm looking forward to getting to know Brisbane better.